April Showers Bring…. Curls. Lots and lots of curls…

20140417-220650.jpg

April in Michigan is all rain, all the time. So for me, a girl with super curly hair, it’s a lost cause to even attempt to straighten my hair. But, there’s still hope! Although it took some time, I’ve finally learned to love my natural hair! And when you love something, you’ve got to treat it right! Which is why I’m sharing the essentials–that have treated me (and my hair) well– with all of you!

  • Tigi BedHead Curlipop 1″ Reverse Conical Curling Iron- I love this styling wand! And at $18, it’s a steal! I prefer a wand vs. the regular clamp curling iron because it’s a lot easier to use (at least for me). There are a couple different versions of this product, but I went with the reverse conical (fancy word for cone shaped) one for a couple of reasons: It’s more versatile. I can create any type of curl with any part of my hair. If I want tightly wound curls, I can wrap my hair around the bottom of the wand. If I want looser curls, I can wrap parts of my hair towards the top of the wand. I also chose this particular wand shape because it gives me the most natural looking curls. Something about the shape of the wand gives my curls definition, but it’s loose. It’s not super obvious that I’ve touched up strands of my hair.
  • Aveeno Nourish+ Condition Leave-In Treatment– I’ve been on the hunt for a leave-in conditioner for awhile now and this is the best one I’ve tried so far! It’s a lazy girl’s godsend because you can just spritz on some of the product, comb it through your mane, and you’re good to go! Another plus about this leave-in is that it’s made with wheat complex, which nourishes and fortifies your hair shaft with protein where you need it most. Oh, and not to mention, it smells aAaAaaamazing. You can find this gem of a product at your local drug store for around $8!
  • Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe Texturizing Sea Salt Spray– Ok, so I’ve already talked about this product in another post, but that’s only because I can’t get enough of it! This spray is infused with dead sea salt and kelp and delivers that perfect beach babe look: sexy and effortlessly tousled. At only $5, this is a must have. I recommend applying it while your hair is damp and styling with your fingers OR using it when your hair is dry as a little touch up.
  • Tangle Teaser Detangling Hair Brush– I’m convinced that the tangle teaser is actually a horse comb in disguise… It works THAT well. My hair tends to tangle quite easily (read: dreadlocks form) and I struggled to find a product, even a detangling spray, that would work through my knots. But, against all odds, the tangle teaser worked its magic. This little guy is great because you can use the brush on wet or dry hair and it doesn’t snag your precious locks at all!

Leave a comment